voting is a Buddha-thing

Buddhists Help Get Out The Vote

“As long as followers of the Way gather together and meet in harmony can they be expected to prosper and not decline. As long as followers of the Way care for the vulnerable among them can they be expected to prosper and not decline. As long as followers of the Way tend the sacred places in their environment can they be expected to prosper and not decline.

~ MahaParinirvana Sutra


Dear Friends in the Dharma,

This is a critical time in American society. As Buddhist teachers and leaders we recognize the importance of all who are eligible to participate in decisions that affect the well being of the whole. A mutual caring community is one of the central teachings of the Buddha.

Many have wondered what you can do at this divisive time. Across the country, tens of millions of eligible voters do not cast their vote – often because they don’t believe their voice matters!

We are joining together with Faith In Action, a NON PARTISAN group of churches, mosques, synagogues and faith communities to help make sure all who are eligible are supported to vote.

We joyfully encourage all in our communities who can help in these weeks ahead to connect with Faith in Action by clicking this LINK. There you will find support and training so that in your area you can help get people out to vote.

Express your commitment and respect for the innate dignity and worth of all. Help to empower the voice of the whole community as a truly important contribution.

You can really make a difference! Please join us.

With loving kindness, compassion and blessings,

Yours in the Dharma,

Jack Kornfield                          Sharon Salzberg                      Joseph Goldstein

Zoketsu Norman Fischer           David Loy                                 Sayadaw U Vivekananda

Lama Surya Das                      Lama Palden Alioto                  Thanissara & Kittisaro

Trudy Goodman                       Bob Thurman                           William Aiken

Tara Brach                               Wendy Egyoku Nakao              Gil Fronsdal

Kenjitsu Nakagaki                    Bhante Katugastota Uparatana Nayaka Thera

Sylvia Boorstein                       Sojun Mel Weitsman                 Judy Lief

Hozen Alan Senauke               Gina Sharpe                            Konda Mason

Dharmacarani Vimalasara         Barbara Gates                                     Bhiksuni Thubten Chodron

Lama Willa Miller                       Chozen & Hogen Bays             Rev. Bup Hee

Oren Jay Sofer                         Marcia Rose                             Neesha Patel

Tara Mulay                               Rodney Smith                          Pamela Weiss

Sharda Rogell                          Kamala Masters                       Jill Shepherd

Bonnie Duran                           James Baraz                            Devin Berry

Anna Douglas                          Spring Washum                                    Carol Wilson

Larry Yang                               Kate Lila Wheeler                     Susie Harrington

Wes Nisker                               Eugene Cash                           Chris Crotty

Dawn Mauricio                          Gulwinder S. Singh                  Temple R. Smith

Parwan Bareja                         Phillip Moffitt                             Noliwe Alexander

Andrea Castillo                         Tere Abdala                             Andrea Fella

Jeff Haozous                            Mary Grace Orr                         Lama Döndrup

Howard Cohn                           Pat Berube, Lama Pat             Lama Stephen Gross

Leslie Booker                           Matthew Brensilver                   Kate Johnson

Diana Winston                          Debra Chamberlin Taylor          Lynn Weinberger

Erin Treat                                 Erin Selover, MS                      Shastri Nick Kranz

Madeline Klyne                        Daniel Rothberg                       Devon Hase

Chris Cullen                              Melvin McLeod                         Adin Strauss

Furyu Schroeder                      Annik Brunet                            Rev. Tenzen David Zimmerman

DaRa Williams                          Gregory Scharf                         Anne Cushman

Valorie Hutson                         Karen Maezen Miller                 Shaku Kengu Rev. Ronald Kobata

Ed Sattizahn                            Rev. James Ishmael Ford         Rev. Sumi Loundon Kim

Karma Lekshe Tsomo              Rev. Grace Schireson              Sensei Koshin Paley Ellison

Sensei Chodo Campbell                       Jisan Tova Green                     Rev. Rosan O. Yoshida, Ph.D.

Layla Smith Bockhorst              Eihei Peter Levitt                      Rebecca Li

Myogen Kathryn Stark              Narayan Helen Liebenson        Flint Sparks

Harrison Blum                           Sebene Selassie                      Ruth King

John Tarrant, Roshi                  Kanzan Bruce Fortin                Thanissara

Jundo Cohen                           Pamela Ayo Yetunde               Gyokuko Carlson

Jim Willems                               Mitchell Ratner                         Eiko Joshin Carolyn Atkinson

Karl Brunnholzl                                     Kate Johnson                          Melissa Myōzen Blacker, Rōshi

Arinna Weisman                       Jules Shuzen Harris Sensei      James Myosan Cordova, Sensei

Alexis Santos                           Ryushin Paul Haller                     Nakawe Cuebas

Rev. Edward Keido Sanshin Oberholtzer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s